Six Principal Organs of the United Nations

All six of the main organs of the United Nations were established in 1945 with the founding of the UN:

  1. General Assembly (consists of all Members of the United Nations, “may discuss any questions or any matters within the scope of the present Charter or relating to the powers and functions of any organs provided for in the present Charter”).
  2. Security Council (“shall consist of fifteen Members of the United Nations. The Republic of China, France, the Union of Soviet Socialist Republics, the United Kingdom of Great Britain and Northern Ireland, and the United States of America shall be permanent members of the Security Council… primary responsibility for the maintenance of international peace and security”).
  3. Economic and Social Council (“may make or initiate studies and reports with respect to international economic, social, cultural, educational, health, and related matters”).
  4. Trusteeship Council (“The United Nations shall establish under its authority an international trusteeship system for the administration and supervision of such territories as may be placed thereunder by subsequent individual agreements. These territories are hereinafter referred to as trust territories.”; “The Trusteeship Council shall formulate a questionnaire on the political, economic, social, and educational advancement of the inhabitants of each trust territory, and the administering authority for each trust territory within the competence of the General Assembly shall make an annual report to the General Assembly upon the basis of such questionnaire”).
  5. International Court of Justice (“shall be the principal judicial organ of the United Nations”)
  6. UN Secretariat (“shall comprise a Secretary-General and such staff as the Organization may require”).

Be the first to comment on "Six Principal Organs of the United Nations"

Leave a comment

Your email address will not be published.